Composition, Aims and Objectives of Niti Aayog
Niti Aayog – Composition, Aims and Objectives

In the year 2014, the government replaced the Planning Commission with a body called Niti Aayog. NITI stands for ‘National Institution for Transforming India.’

What is Niti Aayog?
Niti Ayog is a “policy formulating body” for transforming India. It advises both the centre and states on social and economic issues. It aims to achieve, maintain and promote sustainable development goals.

Niti Aayog is neither a constitutional body nor a statutory body but the outcome of an executive resolution. It was not created by the act of parliament.

Bare Act PDFs

The government was of the view that with the changing norms and structure of the Indian economy, it is necessary to take a step forward and modalise the organisations for better working in this competitive era. It will be a Bhartiya approach to development.

Composition of Niti Aayog

Niti Aayog comprises of:

  1. The Prime Minister of India. He/she is the chairperson/chairman of the Niti Aayog.
  2. It includes the chief ministers of all the states and Union territories.
  3. The set up of regional councils have been done for looking after contingencies in regional areas. It is convened and chaired by the Prime Minister of India and includes concerned chief ministers and Lt. Governors.
  4. The Prime Minister nominates personalities with skilled knowledge, who are experts in particular domains as special invitees.
  5. The Prime Minister also appoints one Vice-Chairperson, who holds the rank of a cabinet minister. The present Niti Aayog Vice Chairman in 2020 is Dr Rajiv Kumar, who is an economist.
  6. There are full-time members who hold the rank of ministers.
  7. There is a maximum of two part-time members who are invited from leading organisations, universities, and research centres.
  8. The Prime Minister also appoints one Chief Executive Officer (CEO) who holds the rank of a Secretary. CEO of Niti Aayog in 2020 is Mr Amitabh Kant, who is a member of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS).

Aims, Agenda, and Objectives of Niti Aayog

The purpose with which Niti Aayog was formed in place of the Planning Commission was a far-sighted vision. It was important to boost the development of India in the emerging global scenario. The objectives are:

  1. To generate a platform for national development, sectors and strategies with the collaboration of states and centre.
  2. To boost the factor of cooperative federalism between the centre and the states. For national development, it is necessary for both the wings to work in synergy.
  3. To develop such mechanisms which work at the ground root level for progressive growth. A nation develops when its regions and states develop.
  4. To work on long term policies and strategies for long-term development. To set up a system for monitoring progress so that it can be used for analysing and improving methods.
  5. To provide a platform for resolving inter-departmental issues amicably.
  6. To make it a platform where the programmes, strategies, and schemes can be monitored on a day to day basis, and it could be understood that which sector needs more resources to develop.
  7. To upgrade technological advancements in such a manner that focus can be made on initiatives and programmes.
  8. To ensure India’s level and ranking at the worldwide level and to make India an actively participating nation.
  9. To progress from food security towards nutrition and standardised meals and focus on agricultural production.
  10. To make use of more technology to avoid misadventures and corruption in governance. To make the working system more transparent and accountable. A step towards digitalisation.

Niti Aayog – Seven Pillars of Effective Governance

Niti Aayog works on principles like Antyodaya (upliftment of poor), inclusion (to include all sections under one head), people participation, and so on.

Niti Aayog is a body that follows seven pillars of governance. They are:

  1. To look after pro-people agenda so that the aspirations and desires of no one are compromised.
  2. To respond and work on the needs of citizens.
  3. Make citizens of the nation involve and participate in various streams.
  4. To empower women in all fields, be it social, technical, economic, or other.
  5. To include all sects and classes under one head. To give special attention to marginalised and minority groups.
  6. To provide equal opportunity for the young generation.
  7. To make the working of government more accountable and transparent. It will ensure less chance of corruption and malpractices.
WritingLaw » Law Notes » Niti Aayog – Composition, Agenda, Aims, Objectives Law Study Material
If you are a regular reader, please consider buying the Law PDFs and MCQ Tests. You will love them. You may also support us with any amount you like. Thank You.